Selling your OpenPeak O2 Joggler?

OpenPeak O2 Joggler

I’ve had a lot of fun with my Joggler, but it was time time to move on so I decided to sell it. I followed standard procedure and did a factory reset to clear all my personal data, but just to be sure I thought I’d take a quick look at the internal storage to make sure there was no obvious personal data left.

I booted into Ubuntu from a USB flash drive, and proceeded to take an image of the internal storage using the dd tool:

sudo dd if=/dev/mmcblk0 of=./joggler_internal_storage.img

I then opened this image file on my laptop using wxHexEditor. The first thing I noticed right at the top of the file was information on my home wireless network – the essid and WPA key! Doing a search for the text ‘steve’ also took me straight to my email address, phone number, and much more besides. ‘Factory reset’, I don’t think!

Rather than try to surgically remove my personal data, I thought the best approach would be to nuke the internal Joggler storage:

sudo dd if=/dev/zero of=/dev/mmcblk0

Wiping the internal storage, though, does mean that the Joggler will no longer boot. Luckily, re-flashing the OpenPeak software is dead easy.

A bit of a faff, but I’m happy that I have been able to pass the device on in relative confidence rather than take a hammer to it!

 

This entry was posted in Privacy, Security and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment